MD O’Shea East Kerry U14 Championship –Division 2 Final Kilcummin 3-23 Firies 2-21

Well done to the Kilcummin U14 footballers who claimed the EK Division 2 championship title on Sunday evening last when they overcame Firies in a very well contested final in Fitzgerald Stadium. Played in dry conditions, Kilcummin played against a very noticeable breeze in the first half but they played their best football in this period. Defending stoutly, we traded points with the opposition early on but, moving the ball swiftly with some excellent kick-passing, Kilcummin were soon into their stride to open up a lead which was maintained to the end. The three goals scored during this half would ultimately prove decisive.

The half time scoreline of 3-8 to 0-12 reflected Kilcummin’s advantage after half an hour and, assisted by the breeze, we opened brightly in the second half to push a further few points ahead. However, Firies were always going to stage a comeback and when they scored their second goal from distance with ten minutes remaining, the deficit was down to five points. To their credit, Kilcummin responded and the sides traded a few points from there to the finish.



Kilcummin U14 EK Div 2 Champions - Team Picture

This success, allied to the earlier Division 2 league final win over Dr Crokes back in July, represents a fine season’s work for this very dedicated bunch of players. They commenced outdoor training back in early February and competed in Division 1 of the County League where they reached the semi final stage. They also reached the semi-finals of the Feile competition during the summer and so can now take a well-deserved break after a long season.

Finally, we wish Turlough O’Connor a speedy recovery from the broken finger which sadly caused him to miss out on last Sunday’s final.

TEAM: Jaded Tynan; Cathal Brosnan, Killian O’Brien, Cian Murphy; Andrew Lowin, Dara O’Callaghan, Oran Dwyer; Jack McClain (0-3) & Colm Kelliher; Colin O’Leary (0-2), Cian Foley (1-6); Adam O’Sullivan (0-2); Evan O’Sullivan (2-6), Mark O’Shea (0-3) & Micheál Sweeney (0-1)

SUBS: Gearoid Mulvihill for Oran Dwyer (injured) H/T, Turlough O’Connor, Oisin O’Leary, Kirill Healy, Robbie Moynihan, Daniel Horgan, Kyle O’Connor Coffey, Patrick Daly & Luke Ryan.

MENTORS: James Foley, Diarmuid O’Callaghan, John Purcell & Michael O’Callaghan

Scroll to Top