U16 East Kerry Championship Div 2 Final Report

U-16 Team pictured after win in Farranfore

U16 East Kerry Championship Div 2 Final

Kilcummin 0-20 Fossa 3-10

FARRANFORE was the venue for the East Kerry Championship Division 2 final on Sunday morning and Kilcummin emerged deserved winners after a massive battle with neighbours Fossa.

Playing with the light breeze Kilcummin got off to a fine start and two early frees from centre-forward Cian Foley were followed by a brace from play by the same player as Jack McClain and Colm Kelliher were dominating in midfield. Corner-forwards Evan O’Sullivan and Micheal Sweeney were working hard in showing for the ball up front with Mark O’Shea moving to good effect at full-forward.

However, Fossa turned the game on its head with swift counter-attacking play and two quick goals – the first a penalty – and two points saw the opposition lead 2-2 to 0-5 after a further free from Cian Foley. Kilcummin continued to work hard and with Dara O’Callaghan now influential in midfield and Cian Murphy and Andrew Lowin excelling in the full-back line, further scores followed from Cian Foley and Jack McClain.

The pace of the game was impressive with wing-backs Dara O’Shea and Turlough O’Connor raiding down the wings and involved in creating chances for the forwards. Wing-forward Oisín O’Leary was also prominent at this stage, working hard, tackling well and strong in possession.


However, we were grateful to excellent goalkeeper Jaden Tynan for a superb point-blank save as despite conceding two points, further scores from the very lively Adam O’Sullivan–back after injury, Dara O’Callaghan from distance and Mark O’Shea saw the teams level at the break on a 0-10 to 2-4 score-line.

Opportunities to score were hard to come by early in the second-half but with Jack McClain and Dara O’Callaghan getting a foothold in midfield. Kilcummin slowly picked off points against a crowded defence with scores from Cian Foley (free), two great strikes from Mark O’Shea and another from Dara O’Callaghan to open a small gap.

Again, Fossa came back to reduce the margin but with Colin O’Leary showing well and using his pace to good effect he slotted over from close range. Points from Cian Foley, Jack McClain and impressive sub Padraic Moynihan saw Kilcummin go four points clear with less than 10 minutes remaining. Superb defending from Andrew Lowin and a great block-down from Dara O’Callaghan kept the opposition at bay, albeit temporarily.

Fossa were not done yet though and Kilcummin were grateful to Killian O’Brien and Cian Murphy for some stout defence. However, another goal and point for the opposition saw the sides level with time running out and momentum against us. To the team’s credit though Kilcummin remained composed and great team-play saw the ball worked to ice-cool sub Jack Fogarty who split the uprights with a fine point which ultimately proved decisive.


Despite some added time Kilcummin retained possession well before excellent Firies referee James O’Sullivan brought a cracking contest to a conclusion. Team captain Cian Foley was presented with the cup by East Kerry Board official Christy O’Leary.

This win ends a superb year for Kilcummin U16’s with Cups collected for County League Division 2 and now EK Championship Division 2 while nine of our players also added County Championship U16 medals to their collection with Eoghan Ruadh.

Well done to the entire panel – Gearoid Mulvihill, Kirill Healy, Oran Dwyer (injured), Daniel Horgan and Robbie Moynihan – all of whom played a part in our vital win over Firies – this win was just reward for the outstanding commitment to training right throughout the year.

Team: Jaden Tynan; Andrew Lowin, Cian Murphy, Killian O’Brien; Dara O’Shea, Dara O’Callaghan (0-2), Turlough O’Connor; Jack McClain (0-2) & Colm Kelliher; Colin O’Leary (0-1), Cian Foley (0-9, 4f), Oisin O’Leary; Evan O’Sullivan, Mark O Shea (0-3), Micheal Sweeney.

Subs: Adam O’Sullivan (0-1), Gearoid Mulvihill, Kirill Healy, Oran Dwyer, Daniel Horgan, Robbie Moynihan, Jack Fogarty (0-1), Padraic Moynihan (0-1).

Management: James Foley, Diarmuid O’Callaghan, Dave Kearney, Kevin O’Riordan, Michael O’Callaghan.

Scroll to Top