O’Sullivan Cup Final Report 2018

O’Sullivan Cup Final 2018 Kilcummin 1-14 Dr Crokes 1-13


This was a very significant achievement for our lads in capturing the East Kerry Junior Championship after a lapse of 25 years. The fact that it was won by beating a very good Dr Crokes team in a cracking game and needed great character to succeed makes it even more praiseworthy.


Kilcummin were very much on top for the first quarter and lead by 1-6 to 0-3 at one stage with captain Ger Sheehan getting the goal. However, Dr Crokes rallied well and were level at half time 1-8 each. The second half was a ding-dong affair with teams trading points throughout. Despite having the majority of possession, we struggled to capitalise against a well marshalled Crokes defence while our opponents relied on counter attacking.


However, in the closing minutes our desire and belief shone through and lovely scores from Damien O’Leary, John McCarthy and John Devane gave us a two-point lead approaching the final whistle. Dr Crokes did bring it down to the minimum, but our backs held firm and there was great joy at the sound of referee Padraig O’Sullivan’s final whistle. There were some great performances from the likes of Donal Maher, Sean Brosnan, Chris O’Leary, Matt Keane and Ger Sheehan in particular but “Man of the Match” went to Shane McSweeney for an awesome display at midfield.


For our more senior players Daniel O’Leary and Kieran Fleming, Mikey O’Shea and John Devane this will be a particularly rewarding win for years of effort at this level. Younger players like James Nagle, Daniel Moynihan, Padraig Nagle and Damien O’Leary will benefit hugely from this experience having played their part in this success over several games. Although none of the substitutes were used in this game many of them played a significant role in earlier rounds and will also take great encouragement and motivation from this effort.


A special mention to management team of Tommy Brosnan, Kieran O’Donoghue and Tommy Cooper who must take great credit for this win as well as our thanks for their efforts over the years in keeping players going.


Team: Kieran Fleming, Sean Brosnan, Donal Maher, Mikey O’Shea, James Nagle, Daniel O’Leary, Daniel Moynihan, Chris O Leary (0-2), Shane McSweeney, Ger Sheehan (Capt, 1-3) Matt Keane (0-1) Padraig Nagle (0-1) John Devane (0-2), Damien O Leary (0-1), John McCarthy (0-1) Panel: Tommy Brosnan, Sean Moynihan, Tomas O’Connor, Tadgh Ryan, David Hickey, Dean Cronin, Conor McCarthy, Lorcan O’Connor, Kevin Healy, Paul Griffin, Michael Brosnan, Richie O’Connor, Paul O’Riordan, Oscar O’Connor, Jake Moynihan.

Scroll to Top