Munster Intermediate Campaign So Far

Munster Intermediate Quarter-Final in Kilrush

Kilrush Shamrocks 0-7 Kilcummin 0-10

We travelled to Kilrush with a little trepidation, expecting a hard battle but confident our lads would be up for the challenge. As it transpired all our expectations were realised in the presence of a huge support from our ever loyal followers who contributed greatly to this occasion with their burst of colour and marvellous encouragement.

Kilrush proved to have many fine players on their team and played some really good football at times. Indeed playing with the wind they caused some concern early on but some good defending allied to a fine save from Brendan Kealy saw us match them score for score. Half-Time found us trailing by a single point 0-5 to 0-4 with Noel Duggan, twice from frees Shane McSweeney and Gary O’Leary being our scorers. That first half saw Daniel O’Leary and Matt Keane being introduced in place of Sean Brosnan and Kevin Gorman (Black Card).

The second-half started with Kilrush being first to score and leaving two points between the sides after five minutes but they were not to score again until well into injury time. This was due to a controlled performance and some good defending throughout. However scores were difficult to come by as we tried to break down their strong defence and difficult crosswind. Matt Keane brought us back level after 10 mins after Gary O’Leary had kicked a fine point to reduce the deficit to a single point three minutes earlier.

When Chris O’Leary put us in front for the first time on the 50th minute it was a great relief as we had missed a considerable number of chances prior to that. However, we kicked on after that with two great frees from Philip Casey. Despite being in complete control it was only when Noel Duggan kicked a fine score from a difficult angle that we could celebrate and look forward to the next round of the competition against Waterford opposition. It was encouraging to see Kieran Murphy return from injury replacing John McCarthy after 45 minutes. Damien O’Leary and James Nagle were also introduced late on for Ian Devane and Sean O’Leary.

Team: Brendan Kealy, Sean Brosnan, Donal Maher, Daniel Moynihan, William Maher, Philip Casey, Sean O’Leary, Kevin Gorman, Chris O’Leary, Shane McSweeney. Gary O’Leary, Padraig Nagle, Ian Devane, John McCarthy, Noel Duggan.

A special word of praise and thanks to the many supporters, who travelled in support of the team and who made it a great family and community day out.


Munster Club Intermediate Championship Semi-Final

Kilcummin 2-17 Kilmacthomas 0-1

A comprehensive victory against the Waterford champions in very difficult conditions that sees us now look forward to a Munster final in less than two weeks’ time. This will be a first in the history of the club and knowing our loyal followers they will make their presence known in large numbers on that historic occasion.


The first half we played against the breeze and in fairness we picked off points on a steady basis, with Noel Duggan (0-2), Gary O Leary (0-2), Philip Casey, Shane McSweeney and Chris O Leary accounting for those scores. When Noel Duggan finished off a great move to the net any chance of a rally by Kilmacthomas was ended.

The second-half saw much of the same as Kilcummin dominated possession and the visitors tried damage limitation. Ian Devane opened the scoring and Noel Duggan quickly followed up but it was another 10 minutes before Kelvin Teahan got our next score. Lots of scoring opportunities were lost and Willie and his team will study that carefully before the final. Noel Duggan and Gary O’Leary added further scores before Mikey O’Shea found the net after a quick slick passing move.

The remaining scores were an O’Leary affair with Gary, Chris and Sean all scoring late points.

Team: Brendan Kealy, Shane McSweeney, Donal Maher, Daniel Moynihan, Sean O’Leary, Philip Casey, William Maher, Kevin Gorman, Chris O’Leary, Gary O’Leary, Matt Keane, Padraig Nagle, Ian Devane, Damien O’Leary, Noel Duggan Subs: Kelvin Teahan (black card) Kieran Murphy, Daniel O’Leary, Sean Brosnan, Mikey O’Shea and James Nagle.

A special mention of all those who made the hosting of this event a possibility in the first place and a huge success as it transpired. All those who stewarded on the day and prepared the ground in time. The Ladies Committee who fed both of teams, mentors, officials and Munster Council stewards. D.& D. for providing the sound system, Shauna O’Leary for her singing, Terry McSweeney for his hard work and not forgetting the fans who supported this historic occasion in huge numbers.

 Kilcummin Abu. Roll on two weeks and paint the parish Red and Green.  

Scroll to Top