MOLYNEAUX CUP: Kilcummin 2-18, Laune Rangers 1-9

MOLYNEAUX CUP: Kilcummin 2-18, Laune Rangers 1-9. Kilcummin qualified for the Molyneaux Cup Final with an easy victory over Laune Rangers in the semi final played in Listry on Friday night last. Laune Rangers went ahead in the 1st minute with a point. Kilcummin were level a minute later with a point from Sean Brendan Doherty. In the 4th minute disaster struck for Kilcummin when they conceded a goal. Kilcummin began to take control kicking three well taken points from Ritchie O’Connor (2) and Ben Brosnan to leave the sides all square 0-4 to 1-1. Laune Rangers regained the lead in the 13th minute from a free. Kilcummin took over for the remainder of the half kicking five unanswered points from a Michael O’Sullivan free, Ritchie O’Connor (3) and Ben Brosnan to leave the half time score. The 2nd half belonged to Kilcummin. Ben Brosnan extended the Kilcummin lead with a point in the opening minute. In the 2nd minute Micheal O’Shea drove through the Laune Rangers defence and he send an unstoppable shot to the net. This was followed by further points from Ritchie O’Connor and Michael O’Shea. Both sides exchanged point’s midway through the half with the Kilcummin points coming from the boot of Gavin O’Leary and Sean B. Doherty (2). In the final minute Kilcummin added a second goal from Michael O’Shea. Final Score- Kilcummin 2-18. Laune Rangers 1-9. Kilcummin will now play Kerins O’Rahilly’s in the Final. Team: Brendan McSweeney, John O’Keeffe, Damien Doolan, Muiris Healy, Michael O’Sullivan 0-1, Eric O’Connor, Eoin Lane, Pat O’Donoghue, Donagh Healy, Michael O’Shea 2-0, Ritchie O’Connor 0-7, Robert Casey, Ben Brosnan 0-5, Diarmuid O’Donoghue and Sean B. Doherty 0-4. Subs: Gavin O’Leary 0-1, Donald McSweeney, Edmund McSweeney and Jer Sheehan.

Scroll to Top