Senior Club Notes 9.9.18

Posted by user-admin4 | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on 11-09-2018


O’Sullivan Cup (East Kerry Junior Championship) Kilcummin 1-14 Dr Crokes 1-13

Kilcummin captured the O Sullivan Cup on Tuesday last in Spa after an epic and entertaining encounter with Dr Crokes. This game was always in the balance to the final whistle but Kilcummin’s hunger saw them victorious after a famine of twenty-five years. Shane McSweeney was a well-deserved Man-of-the-Match but there was a broad smile on the faces of fans and players alike when Ger Sheehan held aloft this coveted trophy. Well done to players and management alike and for a more comprehensive report visit Kilcummin’s GAA website.


All Ireland Champions Kerry Minors Homecoming. Hosted in Kilcummin GAA grounds solely for the first time ever a massive crowd turned out to make this a marvellous occasion for all. The welcome afforded to Paul O’Shea (Capt), Keith O’Leary and their fellow players will live long in the memory of these young men. With James Foley part of the management team it is fair to say that this was indeed a glorious night for the host club. A tremendous amount of work went in to the logistics of running this event so a word of thanks to stewards, Ladies Committee, Rural Development workers, DJ Gav, general members and the public for co-operation and involvement. A word of thanks also to local clubs who offered assistance on the night.


East Kerry. The East Kerry team continued their winning ways in the County Championship with victory over Dingle. Kilcummin have nine players on the panel. They are now through to the Quarter Final in a couple of weeks’ time.



O’Sullivan Cup Final Report 2018

Posted by user-admin4 | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on 11-09-2018


O’Sullivan Cup Final 2018 Kilcummin 1-14 Dr Crokes 1-13


This was a very significant achievement for our lads in capturing the East Kerry Junior Championship after a lapse of 25 years. The fact that it was won by beating a very good Dr Crokes team in a cracking game and needed great character to succeed makes it even more praiseworthy.


Kilcummin were very much on top for the first quarter and lead by 1-6 to 0-3 at one stage with captain Ger Sheehan getting the goal. However, Dr Crokes rallied well and were level at half time 1-8 each. The second half was a ding-dong affair with teams trading points throughout. Despite having the majority of possession, we struggled to capitalise against a well marshalled Crokes defence while our opponents relied on counter attacking.


However, in the closing minutes our desire and belief shone through and lovely scores from Damien O’Leary, John McCarthy and John Devane gave us a two-point lead approaching the final whistle. Dr Crokes did bring it down to the minimum, but our backs held firm and there was great joy at the sound of referee Padraig O’Sullivan’s final whistle. There were some great performances from the likes of Donal Maher, Sean Brosnan, Chris O’Leary, Matt Keane and Ger Sheehan in particular but “Man of the Match” went to Shane McSweeney for an awesome display at midfield.


For our more senior players Daniel O’Leary and Kieran Fleming, Mikey O’Shea and John Devane this will be a particularly rewarding win for years of effort at this level. Younger players like James Nagle, Daniel Moynihan, Padraig Nagle and Damien O’Leary will benefit hugely from this experience having played their part in this success over several games. Although none of the substitutes were used in this game many of them played a significant role in earlier rounds and will also take great encouragement and motivation from this effort.


A special mention to management team of Tommy Brosnan, Kieran O’Donoghue and Tommy Cooper who must take great credit for this win as well as our thanks for their efforts over the years in keeping players going.


Team: Kieran Fleming, Sean Brosnan, Donal Maher, Mikey O’Shea, James Nagle, Daniel O’Leary, Daniel Moynihan, Chris O Leary (0-2), Shane McSweeney, Ger Sheehan (Capt, 1-3) Matt Keane (0-1) Padraig Nagle (0-1) John Devane (0-2), Damien O Leary (0-1), John McCarthy (0-1) Panel: Tommy Brosnan, Sean Moynihan, Tomas O’Connor, Tadgh Ryan, David Hickey, Dean Cronin, Conor McCarthy, Lorcan O’Connor, Kevin Healy, Paul Griffin, Michael Brosnan, Richie O’Connor, Paul O’Riordan, Oscar O’Connor, Jake Moynihan.